Professional Communications Contest

Lori Potter (center) won the 2019 Marianne Beel Sweepstakes Award. Earning second was LuAnn Schindler (right) and Irene North (left) placed third.

Communications professionals who are paid members of Nebraska Press Women may enter the Professional Communications Contest. The contest is judged by experts in the field, and each entry receives feedback from the judge.

General categories include writing; editing and page design; photography and graphics; radio and television; web and social media; advertising; public relations/ promotion/ publicity; speeches; books and creative writing. Each category has several subcategories.

All who place in the state contest are notified and invited to attend the spring NPW convention Communications Contest Awards Banquet. The top three winners (those scoring the most points in all of the categories entered) receive 1st, 2nd and 3rd place Sweepstakes Awards.

All state first place winners who are paid members of the National Federation of Press Women have their entries advanced to the national contest. Winners of the national contest are invited to the NFPW annual convention where certificates are presented and an overall National Sweepstakes Winner is announced and presented a plaque.

See the Contest Rules page for more specific information or email the NPW Contest Director listed on the  Contact NPW page.

Find out more about the contest and entry categories.  Deadlines for 2022 are:

Dec. 31, 2021 – Deadline to pay 2022 NPW dues (must be paid to enter the contest)
Jan. 2, 23, 2022 (noon) – Early-bird deadline
Feb. 2, 2022 (noon) – Final book deadline
Feb. 9, 2022 (noon) – Final entry deadline

2021 Contest Results

View a list of the 2021 Communications Contest winners by category.

2019 Contest Results

Lori Potter, a reporter, columnist and photographer, for the Kearney Hub, won the Marianne Beel sweepstakes award in the Nebraska Press Women’s 2019 Professional Communications Contest. Luann Schindler, managing editor for the Clearwater Record-Ewing News, placed second, and Irene North, a reporter-photographer for the Scottsbluff Star-Herald, placed third in the sweepstakes competition.

View a complete list of 2019 Professional Communications Contest winners

Lori Potter receives NFPW Sweepstakes Award.

Lori Potter, right, receives the Sweepstakes Award in the NFPW 2018 Professional Communications Contest.