Women and men in all areas of the communications industry may join NPW.
Scholarship Applications Due March 25 - NPW will award two scholarships this year: A $1,000 scholarship to woman pursuing a career in mass communication and a $500 scholarship to a graduating high school senior. Click here to read more.

Bette Pore Named 2016 COA - Bette Pore, a senior editor and columnist for the Grand Island Independent, was named 2016 Communicator of Achievement during Nebraska Press Women’s (NPW’s) recent fall conference. Click here to read more.

Cedar Creek Editor Places Third in NFPW Contest--Carla Chance of Cedar Creek won the third-place individual sweepstakes award in the National Federation of Press Women annual communications contest. Click here to read more.

Nebraska Students Win NFPW Awards--Nebraska high school journalism students from Omaha, Grand Island, Fremont and Hastings won a combined 15 awards in the 2016 National Federation of Press Women High School Communications Contest. Click here to read more.

Westside Wins High School Sweepstakes Award-- Westside won the NPW High School Communications Contest Sweepstakes Award for the second consecutive year. It was awarded April 23 at the spring convention in Lincoln.

Two North Platte Journalists Inducted into Hall of Fame--Mary Ann Koch Blackledge and Sharron Hollen were inducted into the Marian Andersen Nebraska Women Journalists Hall of Fame during the Nebraska Press Women’s spring convention in Lincoln on April 23. The induction occurred during the noon luncheon at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The hall of fame now includes 18 members.

Scholarship Recipients Announced--Emma Olson, a journalism and broadcasting major at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln is the 2016 recipient of NPW's $750 Memorial Scholarship. Morgan Wallace, a 2016 graduate of Gering High School, was selected to receive the $500 Marianne Beel Memorial Scholarship.

April 28-29, 2017 - NPW Spring Conference, North Platte, Neb.

Sept. 7-9, 2017 - NFPW Communications Conference, Birmingham, Ala.

Sept. 29-30, 2017 - NPW Fall Conference, Osceola, Neb.

SEE US ON FACEBOOK - Click here to go to our NPW page on Facebook.

Each year, the Nebraska Press Women organization sponsors a Professional Communications Contest. A collegiate communications contest is a separate division of the professional contest. Award winners in both contests are recognized at the state level with top prizes being first, second and third place Sweepstakes Awards. All NFPW first place winners from Nebraska are eligible to compete in the national contest. For more information, go to the menu above and click on Contests, then Contest Rules.

NPW also holds an annual High School Communications Contest. Competition is held in two divisions, Class A schools and all schools smaller than Class A, with awards presented in each. However, only the top entry in each of the categories advances to national. This is the only existing high school journalism contest that feeds into national competition. For more information on the high school contest, go to the menu above and click on Contests, then High School.

Click the link below to find out more about NPW's contests.