Nebraska Press Women Communications Contest award recipients were recently announced at the organization’s spring convention in York. Of the more than 120 entries, 39 earned first place awards and will go on to national competition, according to Mary Jane Skala, NPW contest director. Entrants from Omaha and Lincoln on the east to Scottsbluff and North Platte […]

Nebraska high school students earned three first places, six third places and three honorable mentions in the National Federation of Press Women High School Communications Contest. Winners were announced during a May 16 awards ceremony held via Zoom. First-place entries in the Nebraska Press Women High School Communications Contest advanced to the national round of […]

Two young women with a passion for journalism as well as career interests in the law are the winners of this year’s Nebraska Press Women scholarships. The $1,000 Marianne Beel Scholarship for a high school senior goes to Elleiana Green of Omaha. The Marian High School student is manager-in-chief of Marian’s school newspaper and is […]

Three journalists who worked in Nebraska over the last two centuries were inducted into the Marian Andersen Nebraska Women Journalists Hall of Fame Saturday, April 23, in York. Nina Meisinger, Mary Kay Quinlan and Shirley Sneve were inducted at the awards luncheon during the 2022 Nebraska Press Women Spring Conference. Nina Meisinger, who began her […]

Twenty-two first-place entries in the Nebraska Press Women (NPW) High School Communications Contest have advanced to the National Federation of Press Women competition. National award winners will be announced during an online high school awards celebration on Monday, May 16. The 258 entries in the contest were the most in recent years, with several categories […]