Nebraska Press Women’s $1,000 Memorial Scholarship is available for graduate or full-time, upper-class undergraduate students. Graduate students must be enrolled for at least nine credit hours; undergraduate students for at least 12 hours.

In 2012, the NPW Memorial Scholarship and NPW Excellence in Media Scholarship were combined into the NPW Memorial Scholarship. See below for a list of past recipients.

To be considered for the scholarship, applicants must submit:

  • One to three samples of your work, such as newspaper stories, photographs, radio or video clips; advertising copy or layouts or professional social media posts.
  • A personal letter that outlines your achievements and goals. This letter must be no more than two, double-spaced, single-sided pages. This will be a major factor considered by the scholarship committee.
  • A reference letter from an advisor or faculty member that attests your overall GPA, as well as your GPA in your major field; it should also note why you should be selected for this scholarship (a second letter from someone of your choice is optional).
  • Because of the nature of the profession, the judges will heavily weigh correct spelling and grammar. Please be sure and proofread all aspects of the application.
  • The completed application form, which is available below.

Application deadline is March 22, 2019, and applications must be submitted by email

Download the NPW 2019 College Application.

Questions may be directed to the NPW Scholarship Chair listed on the contact page.

2018 Scholarship Recipient

Brittany Hamor is a journalism major at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, with minors in English, psychology and sociology. She plans to graduate in 2019. She is a Millard South High School graduate who has worked at the Omaha World-Herald as an online intern.

Currently, Brittany is an editorial assistant at the Nebraska State Historical Society and a reporting intern at the Jewish Press. After graduation, she hopes to work in social media and online journalism.

For more information on NPW scholarships, e-mail NPW scholarship director Tammy Bain through the Contact Page.

Recent Winners of the NPW Memorial Scholarship 

2017-2018: Brittany Hamor, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2016-17: Baylee Vrtiska, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2015-16: Emma Olson, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2014-15: Mara Klecker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2013-14: Chelsea Eaton, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2012-13: Emily Hemphill, Concordia University
2011-12: Hailey Konnath, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2010-11: Emily Nohr, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Jamie Klein, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Skylar Osovski, Wayne State College
2006: Michelle Bishop, University of Nebraska-Omaha
2003: Jennifer Myers, Nebraska Wesleyan University
2001: Valeria R. Robert, University of Nebraska at Omaha
1999: Sarah Fox, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
1997: Stacy Rande, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
1996: Mary Woods, Chadron State College
1995: Melissa Dunne, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Recent winners of the NPW Excellence in Media Scholarship include:
Elizabeth Lachnit, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2010-11: Bethany Trueblood, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Erin Starkebaum, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Sarah Thomsen, Wayne State College
2006: Linsey Marshall, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2003: Amanda Sauder, Union College
2001: Tiffany Schmitz, Wayne State College
1999: Kristi Mehlhoff, Chadron State College
1997: Jessica Kennedy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
1996: Becky Lagler, Chadron State College
1995: Rainbow Rowell, University of Nebraska-Lincoln