YORK — Nebraska State Poet Twyla Hansen of Lincoln will be the featured speaker when Nebraska Press Women host their 2014 fall convention Oct. 4 at the York Country Club. Hansen will lead a writing workshop, “For the Love of Words: Poetry, Prose and the Creative Writing Process.” Her newest book, “Dirt Songs: A Plains […]

OGALLALA — Lori Potter, a reporter with the Kearney Hub, won the 2014 Marianne Beel Sweepstakes Award in the annual Nebraska Press Women professional communications contest. Mary Pierce of Ogallala placed second, and Carla Chance of Cedar Creek placed third. The sweepstakes award is named in honor of the late Marianne Beel, a writer and […]

A junior broadcasting major at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) is the 2014 Nebraska Press Women Memorial Scholarship winner. Chelsea Eaton is the daughter of Shari and Joseph Eaton of Eagan, Minn., and is well on her way to a successful broadcasting career. As a high school senior, Chelsea spent six months as a news […]

May 3, 2014 – Leta Powell Drake, Gwen Lindberg and Elia Peattie were inducted into the Marian Andersen Nebraska Women Journalists Hall of Fame during the Nebraska Press Women’s (NPW’s) spring conference at Mid-Plains Community College in Ogallala on May 3. The Marian Andersen Nebraska Women Journalists Hall of Fame was established in 2011 to […]