Bellevue West High School won the 2017 Sweepstakes Award.

Entries are now being accepted for the High School Communications Competition sponsored by Nebraska Press Women (NPW) and the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW). The contest inspires students to excel in their journalistic endeavors.

5 Reasons to Enter the High School Contest

  1. The statewide contest is open to both male and female students across the state. Students compete with other outstanding communicators in their quest for excellence.
  2. There are 23 categories in the areas of news, electronic media and yearbook. See the complete list.
  3. Entries are judged by professionals who provide feedback on each entry.
  4.  All winners receive certificates and are recognized at NPW’s spring conference luncheon, which will be held April 27 in Broken Bow.The school receiving the sweepstakes award receives a trophy and $100 for its journalism department.
  5. First-place winners in each category advance to the National Federation of Press Women’s national contest. This is the ONLY national competition for high school journalists.  All national winners receive a certificate.

All 2019 contest entries must have been published, e-published, broadcast or issued between Feb. 1, 2018, and Jan. 31, 2019.  The state entry fee for the contest is $5 per entry with entries submitted electronically. The entry deadline is Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2019.

Download Steps for Easy Entry into the NFPW Affiliate Communications Contest

Find out more about the high school contest online at the NFPW website.  Additional details about the contest, including the category descriptions and entry information, are included here.

For more information on the state contest, contact Sherry Thompson by email.

The NFPW contest is endorsed by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. Dow Jones announces first-place winners and promotes the competition in its publication distributed to journalism advisers across the nation, giving students and their teachers/advisers local and nationwide recognition.


Westside HS sweepstakes
Westside High School in Omaha was the recipient of the inaugural sweepstakes award in Nebraska Press Women’s High School Communications Competition presented at the 2015 spring convention. Seventeen Westside students won 22 awards, including 10 first places. First-place entries advanced to the National Federation of Press Women competition.