OMAHA — Omaha Westside topped other Nebraska high schools in the 2013 Nebraska Press Women High School Communications Competition. Omaha Westside students received first places in seven of the 17 categories in which there were entries.

First place winners were recognized April 20 at the NPW spring convention at Creighton University in Omaha.

The high school contest had 20 categories this year, with yearbook copywriting, layout and photo added.

Ninety-two entries were received from seven schools: Grand Island, Hastings, Omaha Marian, Omaha Westside, Omaha Central, Bellevue West and Fremont.

Other schools with first-place winners were Grand Island Senior High and Omaha Marian with three each; and Fremont Senior High, Bellevue West and Hastings High School, one each.

The first-place entries advanced to the National Federation of Press Women High School Communications Contest. Those awards will be presented Aug. 23 at the 2013 NFPW Conference in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Following are results in the state contest:

Omaha Westside High School — First place: Kellie Wasikowski, environment story and feature story; Emma Johanningsmeier, news story, editorial and single-page layout; Eva Phillips, graphics; and Aren Rendell, sports story. Second place: Estella Fox, feature photo; Joe Hack, environment story, news story and editorial; and Sophie Goldberg, graphics. Third place: Amelia Jensen, feature photo; Sophie Clark, feature story; Tom Schueneman, editorial; and Skylar Harris, review. Honorable mention: Connor Flairty, sports story.

Omaha Central High School — Second place: Tia Spears, opinion; Emily Beck, single-page layout; Elissa Wiener, sports story; and Jennifer Rooney, feature story. Third place: Maya Durfee O’Brien, opinion; Mekenzie Kerr, news story; and Jennifer Rooney, single-page layout. Honorable mention: Emily Beck, news story and editorial.

Bellevue West High School — First Place: Hailey Stolze, opinion. Second Place: Linzy Heim, sports photo. Honorable Mention: Candi Bolden, reviews.

Hastings High School — First Place: Shane Samuelson, video web news.

Marian High School — First Place: Emily Fisher, yearbook layout; Sydney Pelster, yearbook copywriting; and Alexis Vinton, column. Second Place: Allie Smith, yearbook layout. Third Place: Katherine Lang, yearbook layout.

Grand Island Senior High — First Place: Miranda Wieczorek, feature photo and sports photo, and Abigail Kutlas, review; Second Place: Cedric Wilson, cartooning; Miranda Wieczorek, double-truck layout; Olivia Exstrum, column; and Cedric Wilson, review. Third Place: Riley Menaugh, column. Honorable Mention: Abigail Kutlas, feature photo; Miranda Wieczorek, graphics; and Jazmin Gonzales, column.

Fremont High School — First Place: Susannah Graff, cartooning. Third place: Susannah Graff, graphics, and Aaron Hegarty, sports story. Honorable Mention: Nathan Hittle, feature story.