Nominations are being accepted through Jan. 24, 2015, for the Marian Andersen Nebraska Women Journalists Hall of Fame.

The hall of fame was created by Nebraska Press Women in 2011 to recognize women journalists who have made a difference for their profession and their communities.

The general public is invited to submit nominations for the award. The women nominated may be living or deceased and may come from any facet of the journalism profession, including broadcast, print or online, news, advertising or public relations. Nominees must have a Nebraska background by birth or work experience, having spent a significant amount of their professional careers in the state.

Nominations submitted this year (but not selected) will automatically be considered again the following year.

Nominations will be judged on:

  • Contributions to the profession.
  • Achievements within the profession.
  • Service to her communities (local as well as state and/or regional/national).

Nominations must give compelling reasons why the woman should be selected and must be accompanied by two letters of support, each of which addresses at least one of these criteria. They are to be submitted by email to: Cheryl Alberts Irwin, Nebraska Press Women vice president, at A nomination form and guidelines are available at

Final selection will be made by the NPW Board of Directors. The inductees will be honored at the 2015 Nebraska Press Women spring convention April 25 in Lexington.

Past Hall of Fame Honorees


  • Bess Furman Armstrong
  • Wilma Crumley
  • Lynne Grasz
  • Marj Marlette
  • Beverly Pollock
  • Deanna Sands


  • Mildred Brown
  • Harriet Dakin MacMurphy
  • Mary McGrath


  • Clara Bewick Colby
  • Maxine Moul


  • Gwen Lindberg
  • Leta Powell Drake
  • Elia Wilkinson Peattie