ANCHORAGE. Twelve Nebraska professional communicators earned top awards in the 2015 National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) Excellence in Communications Contest.

The awards were announced at the NFPW convention held Sept. 10-12 in Anchorage, Alaska. Entries in the national competition had to have earned first place at the state level to qualify for the national contest. Like NFPW, Nebraska Press Women is an organization of women and men who work in print and electronic journalism, public relations, advertising, freelancing, graphic design, digital media, marketing, photography and more.

“Our NPW members have competed against some of the best-of-the-best in the nation and have come out winners,” said Terri Hahn, NPW contest co-chair. “We’re proud of our members and their achievements.”

National award recipients, and their awards, are listed below, alphabetically by community:

Grand Island – Terri Hahn of Osceola, features editor for the Grand Island Independent: second, headlines; second, sections or supplements infrequently edited by entrant – newspaper; and second, publications regularly edited by entrant – newspaper.

Grand Island – Bette Pore, copy editor for the Grand Island Independent: first, page design – newspaper, and second, single page, section or supplement regularly edited by entrant – newspaper.

Kearney – Amanda Brandt, digital reporter for the Kearney Hub, and Ashley White, former online editor/city hall reporter for the Kearney Hub: second, website edited or managed by entrant(s) – corporate or for-profit, and third, investigative reporting. White also earned a second in specialty articles – government or politics. Brandt, along with Tyler Jacobs, Kearney Hub video editor, placed third in videos for website – corporate or for-profit.

Kearney – Lori Potter, agriculture/natural resources reporter for the Kearney Hub: first, specialty articles – green/environmental; first, single photograph – general photo (open competition – no subcategories as to type of publication); second, photo essay; and honorable mention, specialty articles – education.

Kearney – Mary Jane Skala, former business/lifestyles reporter for the Kearney Hub: first, specialty articles – business; second, specialty articles – religion; and third, specialty articles – physical health/fitness/mental health/self-help.

Lincoln – Cheryl Alberts Irwin, freelance writer, and Judy Nelson, freelance writer and author: second, public relations materials – newsletters – nonprofit, government or educational.

North Platte – Heather Johnson, formerly a reporter for the North Platte Telegraph, honorable mention, special series.

Omaha – Carla Chance of Cedar Creek, marketing communications director for Video King/VKGS in Omaha: first, advertising posters, billboards, and banners; second, single advertisement for print or electronic publication; and third, advertising campaign.

Omaha – Sherry Thompson, freelance writer: second, writing for the Web.