Heather Johnson, right, receives her awards from NFPW President Marsha Hoffman.

Fourteen members of Nebraska Press Women have earned awards in a national communications contest sponsored by the National Federation of Press Women.

Results were announced Sept. 9 at the NFPW national conference in Birmingham, Alabama. All entries in the national competition earned first-place awards at the state level before advancing.

Members earning honors, and their place of employment, are listed below, alphabetically by community. They include:

Cedar Creek – Carla Chance, Video King of Omaha: First-place awards in advertising campaign, corporate newsletters and corporate brochures; second place in advertising posters; third place in corporate website editing, corporate social media campaign and direct mail marketing.

Clearwater – LuAnn Schindler, Clearwater Record/Ewing News – Neligh News & Leader: First-place award in graphics; second place in editorial/opinion for magazines; third place in informational columns and infographics; and honorable mentions in general columns and social issues articles.

Grand Island – Bette Pore, Grand Island Independent: First-place award in infrequent newspaper section editing.

Grand Island – Joni Ransom, Central Community College: Third-place award in news story for magazines or newsletter.

Kearney – Lori Potter, Kearney Hub: First-place awards in environmental articles and photographer/writer; second place in sports photos and photo essay; third place in agriculture articles; and honorable mentions in education articles and brochures for non-profits (with Glennis Nagel, also of Kearney).

Kearney – Erika Pritchard, Kearney Hub: Honorable mentions in government or political articles, and general photos.

Kearney – Heather Riggleman: Third-place award for personal/opinion columns.

Lincoln – Jennifer Gjerde, Nebraska Tourism Commission: Second-place awards in audiovisuals, single news or feature release, and speeches.

North Platte – Heather Johnson, Mid-Plains Community College: First-place award in multiple news or feature releases; and honorable mentions in feature story for online publications and magazines.

North Platte – Kamie Stephen, North Platte Telegraph: First-place award in news or feature photo; and second place in enterprise reporting.

Omaha – Sherry Thompson, communications consultant and freelance writer/editor: Third-place award in social media campaign for nonprofits.

Osceola – Terri Hahn, Grand Island Independent: First-place award in newspaper page design; and second place in headlines and newspaper page or section editing.

Seward – Jill Martin, Seward County Independent: Second-place award in history articles; and honorable mention in news story for newspapers.