Nebraska high school students earned two first places, four second places, three third places and seven honorable mentions in the National Federation of Press Women High School Communications Contest. Winners were announced during a May 22 awards ceremony held via Zoom.

First-place entries in the Nebraska Press Women High School Communications Contest advanced to the national round of competition. The contest recognizes students in a variety of communications categories including writing, photography, graphics, page layout, and yearbook.

Nebraska’s national winners represent seven schools – Adams Central Jr./Sr. High School in Hastings, Dorchester High School in Crete,  Grand Island Central Catholic High School, Marian High School in Omaha, Millard North High School in Omaha, Plattsmouth High School, and Westside High School in Omaha.

First-place honorees are:

  • Video Feature Story – Erin Mosier, Westside High School, The Show (Choir) Must Go On

  • Yearbook Layout – Elliot Block, Plattsmouth High School,  Fall Divider

Second-place winners are:

  • Columns or Blog – Koby Bales and Angela Messere, Grand Island Central Catholic High School, Tik-Tok: A danger to society; Data privacy in Europe more secure
  • Graphics/Photo Illustration Dante Boelhower, Adams Central Jr./Sr. High School, Committed
  • Radio Prepared Report Will Eikenbary, Westside High School, Pandemicast: Vote of Confidence
  • Video Sports Story – Jack Macfadyen and Arnav Pokhrel , Millard North High School, A Quiet Court

Third-place winners are:

  • News or Feature photo Audrey Persaud, Westside High School, What youth can do protest
  • Sports Photo Zoe Gillespie, Westside High School, Payson Gillespie shoots a layup with defenders guarding him tightly
  • Best Newscast: Radio or Television Jack Macfadyen, Myah Walker, Sree Kolli, Laila Qureishi and Sean Saxby, Millard North High School, The Blue View

Honorable mention recipients are:

  • Cartooning Pangaea Kaan, Marian High School, Paranoid pandemic predicament
  • Single Page Layout – Grace Virgillito, Marian High School, Marian Girls Serve the Community
  • Double Truck Layout Isa Luzarraga, Millard North High School, The Digital Divide
  • Environment Emily Salzman, Marian High School, Omaha Students Give Sustainability a Try; Making Change One Step at a Time
  • Video News Story Jack Macfadyen and Myah Walker, Millard North High School, Artists At Work
  • Yearbook Photo Katie Fulkerson, Millard North High School, Color Guard
  • Yearbook Copywriting Breanna Muff, Dorchester High School, Injuries Take a Toll But Players Don’t Give Up

A list of all NFPW winners is online at