Former Chicago Tribune managing editor Jane Hirt will headline the NPW’s spring convention April 23, 2016, in Lincoln. A 25-year veteran of the news media industry, Hirt embodies the NPW’s 70th anniversary convention theme of “Embracing the Future, Respecting the Past.” The UNL journalism graduate was called a “charismatic leader who could make change happen” […]

GENOA – Long-time Kearney Hub reporter and columnist Lori Potter, was named the 2015 Communicator of Achievement (COA) by the Nebraska Press Women (NPW) at its fall conference in Genoa on Oct. 3. The award is the highest honor NPW can bestow on a member and is based on exceptional achievement in the communications field, […]

ANCHORAGE. Twelve Nebraska professional communicators earned top awards in the 2015 National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) Excellence in Communications Contest. The awards were announced at the NFPW convention held Sept. 10-12 in Anchorage, Alaska. Entries in the national competition had to have earned first place at the state level to qualify for the national […]

Nebraska high school journalism students received a total of 14 awards in the 2015 National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) High School Communications Contest for work completed during the past school year. The awards were announced at the NFPW convention on Sept. 11 in Anchorage, Alaska. Award winners from Nebraska are: Morgan Keith, Bellevue West […]

Nominations are being sought for the next Nebraska Press Women’s Communicator of Achievement (COA) Award. The award is part of a national program to honor communicators who not only display exceptional achievement in the communication field, but also serve the organization and the community. The state COA is announced annually at the fall convention and […]

LEXINGTON — A total of 55 Nebraska journalism students received awards in the 2015 Nebraska Press Women High School Journalism contest. The awards were presented Saturday, April 25, at the NPW Spring Convention Awards Luncheon at the Lexington Public Library. This year’s contest added a Sweepstakes Award for the school with the most awards. The […]

Two new members were inducted into the Marian Andersen Nebraska Women Journalists Hall of Fame during Nebraska Press Women’s spring convention luncheon April 25 at the Lexington Public Library. The 2015 honorees are Joan Rossiter Burney of Lincoln and Beverly Deepe Keever of Honolulu, Hawaii. Burney is a Hartington native who discovered her talent for […]

A University of Nebraska-Lincoln journalism student and a spring graduate of Arthur County High School have been named as 2015 recipients of Nebraska Press Women scholarships. UNL student Mara Klecker is the NPW Memorial Scholarship recipient, while Morgan Peterson of Arthur received the Marianne Beel Memorial Scholarship. 2015 NPW Memorial Scholarship Klecker is a junior […]

Winners in the Nebraska Press Women 2015 Communications Contest were announced April 25 at the close of the NPW spring convention in Lexington. The Marianne Beel Sweepstakes Awards were presented to the top three award winners. Taking first place was Lori Potter of Kearney (at right in photo), the agriculture/natural resources reporter for the Kearney Hub. Placing second was […]

NFPW and NPW will continue the process of hosting an online contest. And the contest website is live, so start getting your entries ready. All the rules and categories are on the NFPW website at  The page also provides links for easy navigation to the information that will make entering easy for NFPW members […]